Sources accessed: September 15, 2026 · Published: September 20, 2026
1. Start with the switch you can turn off
FreeRateUpdate puts this on its own leads page: "No Contract, No Minimums. Activate and pause your account, no daily volume commitment." Of the fifteen providers whose public pages we read on September 15, 2026, that combination is unusual. Most of the set either states a minimum, states a monthly commitment, or states nothing at all and leaves the commercial terms to a call. Being able to stop buying in a week when your desk cannot work the pipeline, and start again when it can, is a real answer for a small team and for anyone whose capacity moves with the season. It is the most useful thing on the company's pages for a reader deciding whether to test it, which is why it goes first. If a test rather than a commitment is what you are after, see how to test a new mortgage lead source and whether a small team should buy mortgage leads at all. What that switch does not settle is everything in section 4, and every question there is one we would want asked of us too.
2. What FreeRateUpdate sells a loan officer
Everything in this section comes from three of the provider's own public pages, read on September 15, 2026: the homepage, the mortgage-leads page and the live-transfer page. Quotations are as extracted from the page text, with dashes inside quotes written as hyphens. One trade publication, HousingWire, is named below wherever it is the source.
- The model, in its own words. Its own homepage says "Freerateupdate.com is a Marketing Lead Generator ... and is compensated by Lenders for the services provided." So the company is paid by the buying side, which is worth knowing before you read anything else on the site.
- Two products, not one. Web leads, and live transfers: "We transfer the consumer to you live on the phone," on its own live-transfer page. Those are different units. A web lead is a record your team calls; a transfer is a conversation handed to somebody who has to be sitting there to take it. They are priced, staffed and judged differently, and a quote that does not say which one you are buying is not a quote you can compare. See what a live transfer mortgage lead is.
- Who receives a lead. Its own leads page says leads are "delivered to licensed lenders and brokers in the FreeRateUpdate network". How many lenders receive each lead is not stated on the pages we opened, for either product. Recorded as an absence, not as a criticism: section 4.1 asks for the number rather than supplying one, and on what the answer changes, see are shared mortgage leads worth buying.
- The commercial terms. "No Contract, No Minimums. Activate and pause your account, no daily volume commitment," on its own leads page. That is section 1, and it is the clearest thing the site says.
- Lead types. The navigation on its own leads page lists "Home Equity," "VA," "FHA," "Purchase," "Refinance," and "Personal Loan". Home equity is worth flagging: it is named by only a few providers in this review, and the hub records which. Neither DSCR nor cash-out refinance appears as a named lead type on the pages we reviewed on 15 September 2026, here or anywhere else in the set. That is a statement about what the pages say, not about what a provider will sell you if you ask. See where to buy DSCR loan leads and where to buy cash-out refinance leads.
- Delivery. Its own leads page says "Leads are delivered into your CRM. FreeRateUpdate integrates with all major CRMs, including Velocify and Big Purple Dot." Those two are integrations the company lists on its own page. They are not its buyers, and nothing here says who its buyers are. How fast a record moves through an integration is worth settling in writing: how fast a lead should reach your CRM.
- Who it is for. Licensed mortgage lenders and brokers with valid NMLS numbers, on its own pages, with signup options running from "Myself" to "10+ Loan Officers".
- Where the traffic comes from. Its own leads page says leads are "Primarily generated from Google Search". Self-reported and confirmed by nobody outside the company, so read it as the company's description of its own funnel. On why the question matters, see where mortgage leads come from.
- What the company says about its own size. "700+ active loan officer accounts" and "8 times INC Fastest Growing Private Company in the US", both on its own leads page. Both are self-reported, neither cites anything we could open, and the second names no year. They are printed here as claims the company makes about itself, clearly labelled, rather than as facts this page checked.
- The company. Its own pages give it as a licensed mortgage broker, NMLS #1154338, with a main office at 2 Ponds Edge Drive, Chadds Ford, PA 19317, a California licence under NMLS #1452444, and the business established in 2008. Those are the kind of facts a reader can check against a public registry, which is more than most of the set puts in front of you. We did not open the NMLS registry or any state regulator ourselves, and section 6 says so.
Two published contact rates, and this page is not going to pick one. The company's own live-transfer page says its transfers come "With near 100% contact rate." HousingWire, in the article named in section 3.2, reports an "80% contact rate" for the same company. Those are two published numbers for one metric, one published by the vendor and one by a trade publication, and they do not agree.
Both are printed here, each next to who published it, and neither is endorsed. This page does not split the difference, does not average them and does not tell you which is right. It cannot: neither number comes with a definition of what was counted, over what window, on which product, or who did the counting. A page that resolved the conflict by picking the source it liked would be inventing the answer, and a reader who later found the other number would be right to stop trusting everything else here.
There is a second reason for the caution, and it applies to us rather than to them. There is no independent, audited contact rate for internet mortgage leads, so every figure in circulation was produced by somebody with an interest in it, and any figure of ours would sit in that category too. Neither number above is compared with anything of ours, and neither is an industry norm, a benchmark, or a figure to hold any other provider to. Section 4.2 turns them into the question that actually helps you, and the background is in why mortgage leads do not answer and how fast you should call a new mortgage lead.
3. The price, and who published which number
Two different objects get confused in every listicle on this subject, a provider's own published price and a publication's estimate of it, so they are kept in separate subsections here and nothing is carried from one into the other. On this page both subsections come out the same way: there is no number.
3.1 What the provider publishes on its own site
No price at all. On the pages we opened on September 15, 2026 there is no per-lead price, no per-transfer price, no setup fee and no minimum spend. The live-transfer page says only "Affordable pricing and High Conversion Rate," which is a sentence about how the company would like its pricing described rather than a price. The nearest thing to a commercial term on its own site is the one in section 1, "No Contract, No Minimums", and that is a statement about commitment, not about cost. So you cannot budget against this provider before a conversation, which is a fair trade for the flexibility and is still worth knowing in advance. For what generally moves a mortgage lead price across the market rather than at one provider, see what drives the price of a mortgage lead and how much mortgage leads cost.
3.2 What a named third party published
HousingWire, in "9 top places to buy mortgage leads in 2026" by Julia Mahan, published October 27, 2025 and last modified March 25, 2026, lists Freerateupdate.com among its nine under the label "real-time rate shoppers and refinance leads". Its price line for this provider is "Pricing depends on the service", and our notes from the same article record its pricing for this provider a second way, as "Custom quotes only". Neither of those is a figure, so the two wordings do not conflict in any way that matters to a buyer: no independent publication we opened has priced this company. Two caveats belong with the citation anyway. HousingWire discloses at the top of that article that it may earn a commission when a reader buys through its links, and the article says of itself that the list "is not ranked, but curated".
Because there is no price on either side, here is one named benchmark for
context, and it is not a lead vendor's price. LocaliQ, in its "Search
Advertising Benchmarks" updated June 1, 2026, puts the all-industry
average cost per lead at $66.69, Finance and Insurance at
$74.44 and Real Estate at $102.51. Those are
what it costs to generate a lead through search advertising, not what it
costs to buy one, and they are here so that a quote you receive has
something published to sit next to. They are not this provider's price
and nobody should read them as one.
4. Questions to ask before you buy
These come out of the gaps in the material above: things the pages themselves leave open. They are questions, not accusations, and they are worth putting to every provider in the table below, this page's publisher included. Ask in writing and keep the answer.
4.1 Is each web lead or live transfer sold to one lender, or to several?
- Leads go to "licensed lenders and brokers in the FreeRateUpdate network". For the product I am being quoted, how many of them receive the same record?
- Is the answer the same for a live transfer as for a web lead? A transfer is one conversation, so what happens to the record afterwards, and can it be sold again?
- If a record is exclusive, exclusive for how long, and exclusive to me or to anyone at my company?
- No provider on this page states a number of buyers per lead in the sources cited here. One company in this market does publish such a number, in its own filing, and that number describes that company alone. Ask each provider separately and never carry an answer across.
4.2 How do you define contact rate, and who measured it?
- Two numbers for this metric are in print, the company's own "near 100% contact rate" and HousingWire's "80% contact rate". Which product does each describe, web leads or live transfers?
- What counts as a contact: the transfer connecting, the consumer saying hello, a conversation of some minimum length, or a conversation that reaches a stated outcome?
- Over what window is it measured, across how many attempts, and who did the measuring: the vendor, the buyer, or a third party with access to the call records?
- Can I see it computed on my own account after 30 days, from my own dialer rather than from your dashboard? That is the only version of this number that is about your desk, and it is the only one worth agreeing on, because there is no audited industry figure to compare either published number against. See why mortgage leads do not answer.
4.3 What is the price per lead and per transfer for my filters, and what does pausing actually do?
- Nothing is published on either side, so the whole price is a conversation. What is the price per web lead and the price per live transfer, for my states, my products and my filters, in writing?
- Does the price change by product, by state, by credit band or by time of day, and is a transfer billed on connection or on duration?
- "No Contract, No Minimums" and "Activate and pause your account". How is a pause actually executed, how much notice does it need, and does anything keep billing while the account is paused?
- Is there a first order, a deposit or a top-up that has to clear before delivery starts, and what happens to an unspent balance if I pause and never come back?
4.4 What is the return policy for a mismatched credit profile or loan type?
- No return policy appeared on the pages we opened. If a record arrives outside the filters I bought, credit or loan type included, what is the credit or refund, and inside what window?
- Does a live transfer have its own return rule, and what happens to the charge if the call drops in the first few seconds or the consumer was never expecting a lender?
- What counts as a bad record in the first place, and what does a vendor owe you for one? Our answers: what counts as a bad mortgage lead and what a lead vendor owes you when a lead is bad.
- Can I restrict delivery to my own licensed states and counties, and what happens to a record outside them? See can I buy mortgage leads by state or ZIP, and on the consent that came with the record, what TCPA consent on a mortgage lead is.
5. Where else a licensed buyer can go
Four alternatives plus us, chosen because a source we can cite says something specific about the price of each, and because between them they cover the three ways this market prices: a per-lead figure, a fixed month, and a quote. The list is not ranked and the row order carries no meaning. The middle column reads "not documented on this page" for most rows, which is a statement about this page rather than about those companies: what each of them says about its own model is on the hub, in its own words. No contact rate appears in this table, for anybody, for the reason given in section 2.
| Provider | What it sells, and where that is stated | Price, and who published it | Best for, per HousingWire's own label |
|---|---|---|---|
| FreeRateUpdate | Web leads and live phone transfers, on its own site. How many lenders receive each record is not stated there | Not published on its own site, which says "No Contract, No Minimums". HousingWire says pricing "depends on the service" | "real-time rate shoppers and refinance leads" |
| MortgageLeads.com | Not documented on this page. The hub row carries what this company says about itself | A per-lead rate card by credit tier on its own product pages. Refinance exclusive, good or excellent credit: $55.00 | Not in that article |
| LoanBright | Not documented on this page. The hub row carries what this company says about itself | $500 per month for 5 real-time leads each weekday, on its own site. HousingWire prints the same figure | "budget-friendly lead programs" |
| Aged Lead Store | Not documented on this page. The hub row carries what this company says about itself | $1.50-2.50 per aged mortgage lead, on its own site | Not in that article |
| LendingTree | Not documented on this page. The hub row carries what this company says about itself | Not published on its own partner pages. HousingWire lists "From $30-$100 per lead" | "high-volume, fast-moving leads" |
| VisionXLab publisher of this page | One lead goes to exactly one client, stated on our own pages | No rate card. Self-serve packs carry their price on the site; anything larger is quoted per order | Not in that article |
This is a shortlist, not the field. Ten more providers, the full price section and the exclusivity column as each company words it are on the hub: where to buy mortgage leads, fifteen providers compared. For the difference between a web lead, an aged lead and a live transfer before you compare any two prices, see mortgage lead types compared.
6. Method, and what is deliberately missing
When. Every page behind this comparison was read on September 15, 2026. Anything a provider changed after that date is not reflected here yet.
What we read, and how. Three of FreeRateUpdate's own public pages, its homepage, its mortgage-leads page and its live-transfer page; one trade publication, HousingWire, named in the same sentence as anything it is the source for; and one named benchmark source, LocaliQ, which is not a lead vendor and whose figures are labelled as search advertising costs rather than lead prices. Prices published by the other providers in the table come from those providers' own sites, except where the sentence names HousingWire instead. Most of these pages were read with an automated text extractor rather than by a person in a browser, so quotations are as extracted and dashes inside them are written as hyphens. Before relying on a quoted phrase, open the page yourself or ask the provider to confirm it in writing.
The price range we did not invent. This provider publishes nothing about cost, and no independent publication we opened priced it either. So there is no range on this page, not even a hedged one, and no figure borrowed from a comparable provider and dressed up as an estimate. Search results will offer you per-lead ranges for companies like this one; the ones we followed trace back to blogs written by competing vendors, with no source you can open.
The two contact rates, and the number we do not have. Both published figures are in section 2 with their publishers named, and this page picks neither. It does not average them and it treats neither source as the tiebreaker. Nor does it put a number of ours next to them, because there is no independent, audited measurement of the metric for internet mortgage leads that either could be checked against. Neither of those two numbers is an industry norm, and neither should be used to grade a third company.
Three claims we printed as claims. The account count, the award line with no year attached and the sentence about where the traffic comes from are all self-reported on the company's own pages, and none of them cites anything we could open. They are in section 2, clearly labelled, because a reader looking this company up will meet them anyway and is better served seeing them labelled than seeing them quietly dropped. This page does not stand behind them. The broker licence, the two NMLS numbers, the office address and the founding year in the same section are also as stated on the company's own pages: we did not open the NMLS registry or any state regulator to check them, and a reader relying on any of it should.
What we did not carry across. One company in this market does publish how many buyers can receive a single request, in its own filing with the SEC. That number describes that company. It is not on this page in any form, because this provider states no number and borrowing one would be the worst thing a comparison can do: a real citation sitting under a claim it does not support.
What this page does not do. It does not judge lead quality, measure anyone's conversion or contact rates, ours included, rank, score or recommend. It computes nothing: no average, no midpoint, no per-lead figure derived from anything. And it does not read a gap in a company's website as evidence of anything: an unanswered question is an unanswered question, which is why section 4 asks rather than concludes.
Corrections. If you are a provider named here and a fact about you is wrong, out of date, or missing context, write to info@visionxlab.com with the page it comes from, and we will correct it and move the date stamp at the top.
Disclosure. This page is published by VisionXLab. VisionXLab sells mortgage leads, so we are one of the companies compared on it, and we appear in the table above alongside everyone else. Every fact about another provider comes either from that provider's own public pages or from a named third party, accessed on September 15, 2026, and the source is stated next to the fact. If you are a provider on this page and something here is wrong or out of date, write to info@visionxlab.com and we will correct it.
© 2026 VisionXLab · M4 Labs LLC. All rights reserved. Trade names and trademarks on this page belong to their respective owners and are used to identify the companies described.