Sources accessed: September 15, 2026 · Published: September 20, 2026
1. The short answer, before anything about lead quality
If you are a branch or a small team, the deciding fact about Bankrate is
not its price per lead. It is the minimum. HousingWire, in an article last
modified March 25, 2026, puts the current minimum monthly spend at
$20k with pilot options, and lists $100-$200 per
lead. Bankrate publishes neither figure itself. A minimum of that size is
a gate, not a price: it decides whether you can use the channel at all,
before any question about lead quality arises.
2. What Bankrate actually sells a lender
Everything in this section comes from Bankrate's own media kit, read on September 15, 2026. Where the media kit says nothing, this page says so rather than filling the gap.
- The product is rate-table advertising, not a lead list. You appear in the rate tables a consumer is comparing, and the media kit says its "Mortgage advertisers only pay for leads after a consumer works their way through our funnel and chooses to provide their contact information".
- Billing models. Cost per lead and cost per call for mortgage. Cost per click is listed, but for other product categories, not for mortgage.
- Lead types. Conventional, jumbo, FHA and VA, and refinance variants across terms.
- Who it is written for. The media kit describes the audience as "affluent, in-market, ready to transact, and have high credit scores". That is Bankrate's description of its own readers, not a measurement anyone else has published.
- Geography. The media kit offers geo-targeting across "over 650 markets in all 50 states". Self-reported, and we did not verify it.
- How many lenders receive the same lead: not stated. The media kit gives no number and makes no exclusivity claim either way. This page does not supply one. One company in this market states a number, and it states it in a filing with the SEC about its own marketplace, which says nothing about Bankrate. Section 4 turns the silence into a question to put in writing.
- Delivery: not specified. The media kit does not say how a lead reaches your CRM, which integrations exist, or how fast. Ask before you sign, not after.
- Company. Bankrate's parent is Red Ventures. The regulated entities named on its own material are Bankrate, LLC (NMLS #1427381) and BR Tech Services, Inc. (NMLS #1743443).
3. What it costs, and who published that
3.1 Bankrate publishes no price and no minimum
There is no rate card on its own site, and no minimum on its own site either. Every figure you will find quoted online for this channel, including the two on this page, was printed by somebody other than Bankrate. That distinction is the whole reason this page exists, because a price with no name attached to it is not a price.
3.2 The only figures with a named publisher behind them
One trade publication, HousingWire, printed price lines for this channel in "9 top places to buy mortgage leads in 2026" by Julia Mahan, published October 27, 2025 and last modified March 25, 2026, read here on September 15, 2026. Two things about that article matter as much as its numbers. It discloses at the top that it may earn a commission when a reader buys through its links, and it gives no source for the figures themselves. On that basis, and attributed to HousingWire rather than to Bankrate:
- HousingWire lists Bankrate at "From
$100-$200per lead". - HousingWire states a "Current minimum monthly spend is
$20kper month with flexible pilot program options". - HousingWire describes the campaigns as "primarily CPL, with CPC and pay-per-call available" and the leads as "SMS-verified". The verification claim is HousingWire's wording; Bankrate's media kit does not use it.
3.3 What a minimum does that a price does not
A per-lead price scales down. A monthly minimum does not. Taking
HousingWire's two endpoints and dividing HousingWire's own minimum by
each of them: at $100 per lead a $20k month
buys 200 leads, and at $200 per lead the same month buys
100. There is no version of that month that costs less. If your desk
cannot work 100 leads in a month, the channel is not expensive for you,
it is closed to you, and the honest move is to look at the table in
section 5 rather than to negotiate.
Two further consequences worth thinking through before a call. First, rate-table advertising rewards a rate you can hold and update often, because you are being compared on the screen at the moment of the click; a desk whose pricing moves slowly pays the same minimum for worse placement. Second, a pilot is still a commitment of some size, and HousingWire's phrase "flexible pilot program options" describes that flexibility without saying what it is. That is a question, not a fact.
3.4 Three figures to judge any quote against, none of them a lead price
These are published by named bodies with no lead to sell, and they are what a quote should be sanity-checked against.
- LocaliQ and WordStream, "Search Advertising
Benchmarks", updated June 1, 2026, on Google and Microsoft Ads data:
an all-industry average cost per lead of
$66.69, Finance and Insurance at$74.44, Real Estate at$102.51. That is what it costs to generate a lead through search ads, not to buy one. - MBA and STRATMOR Peer Group Roundtables, in an MBA
Newslink chart dated June 18, 2026: the cost to originate one retail
loan in 2025 was
$16,320at depositories and$12,209at independents, with sales expense, which includes marketing, at 42% and 60% of that cost respectively. No separate lead cost is broken out. - MBA's Quarterly Mortgage Bankers Performance Report
for Q2 2026, released August 18, 2026, as reported by HousingWire:
pretax net production profit of
$973per loan, per-loan production costs of$10,936, per-loan revenue of$11,909. Read that as scale, not as a break-even sum: the profit figure already has marketing inside the costs it nets out, so dividing a media budget by it would count the same money twice.
If you want the longer version of how lead prices are set and why two quotes are rarely comparable, we wrote those separately: how much mortgage leads cost, what drives the price of a mortgage lead, and cost per lead against cost per funded loan.
4. Questions to ask before you buy
These come out of the gaps above: points the published material leaves open. They are questions, not accusations, and every one of them is worth putting to every provider in section 5, ours included. Ask in writing, and keep the answer with a date on it.
4.1 How many buyers receive this lead?
- Bankrate's media kit states no number and makes no exclusivity claim. So ask it directly: does this lead reach one lender or several, and how many on average rather than at most?
- Rate-table advertising shows a consumer several lenders by design. Ask what happens after the consumer submits: does the contact go to the lender whose rate was clicked, or to more than one?
- Whatever the answer is, ask for it in writing. A number that exists nowhere on a public page is a number that can change without notice.
4.2 What is the minimum today, and what is a pilot?
- Is the
$20kmonthly figure HousingWire published in March 2026 still current, and is it spend, billings, or a commitment? - What does a pilot cost, how long does it run, and what happens at the end of it?
- Can I cap daily spend, pause, and restart, and is there a penalty for any of the three?
- Is the minimum per account, per state, or per product?
4.3 What arrives, how fast, and what can I send back?
- Which fields come with the lead, and does it reach my CRM in real time through a named integration? The media kit does not say.
- What is the return or credit policy for a lead outside the filters I bought, and inside what window?
- For pay-per-call: what is the buffer, what counts as a connected call, and what makes a call billable?
- What consent record comes with the lead, can I see an example before I buy, and if you are looking at aged data anywhere in section 5, which channels may I lawfully use with those records in my states?
4.4 Does my rate actually compete on this table?
- How often must my rates be updated, and what happens to my spend when they go stale?
- How is placement decided when two lenders show the same rate?
- Before committing a month, we would run the test the same way on any source: fix the length and the count first. How to test a new mortgage lead source sets that out.
5. Where else a buyer under that minimum can look
Six providers, plus us. The point of the third column is the entry cost, because that is what the minimum makes decisive. The list is not ranked and the row order carries no meaning. The full fifteen-provider version, with exclusivity and best fit for each, is on our comparison of where to buy mortgage leads, and purchase leads specifically are covered in where to buy purchase mortgage leads.
| Provider | What you buy | Entry cost, and who published it | Exclusive? (per own site) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bankrate | Rate-table advertising. Pay per lead or per call | Not published by Bankrate. HousingWire lists $100-$200 per lead and a $20k monthly minimum | Not stated on the media kit |
| LendingTree | Marketplace. Lenders pay a match fee per consumer request | Not published. HousingWire lists $30-$100 per lead | No. Its Form 10-K says a request is transmitted to "up to five participating Network Partners" |
| LoanBright | Fixed monthly lead subscription | Yes. $500 per month for 5 real-time leads each weekday | Its page title says "Exclusive & Shared". The pages do not explain which plan is which |
| MortgageLeads.com (Astoria Company) | Lead exchange: exclusive and shared web leads, live transfers, pay per call | Yes. Per-lead rate cards by credit tier on its own site | Both, priced separately |
| Aged Lead Store | Aged leads, self-serve download. It calls itself "a lead aggregator (data broker) and not a lead generator" | Yes. $1.50-2.50 per mortgage lead, 30 to 85 days old, on its own site | No. Its own page says the leads "are non-exclusive" |
| Hova Digital | Personal-brand marketing agency plus a CRM. Not a lead seller | Partly published. Its CRM is $97 per month on its own site; other packages by consultation | Not a lead seller, so no exclusivity claim |
| VisionXLab publisher of this page | Mortgage leads from our own landing pages and lead ads, delivered into the buyer's CRM | No rate card published. Self-serve packs carry their own price on this site; anything larger is quoted per order | Yes. One lead goes to exactly one client, which is the default rather than an upgrade |
What this table is not. It is not a ranking and not a quality judgement. Two of these rows are not lead sellers at all, and one sells aged data whose consent position is a question in section 4.3 rather than a footnote. Entry cost is the only dimension the rows are lined up on, because entry cost is what a minimum decides.
6. Method
When. Every page behind this comparison was read on September 15, 2026. Anything that changed on a provider's site after that date is not reflected here yet.
What we read for the Bankrate sections. Two sources and no others: Bankrate's own media kit, which blocked automated access and was read through a reader proxy, so quotations are as extracted from the page text; and HousingWire's "9 top places to buy mortgage leads in 2026", cited by name wherever it is the source. The context figures in section 3.4 come from LocaliQ and WordStream and from two MBA publications, named with their dates in the same sentences as their numbers.
What we looked for and did not find. A price on Bankrate's own site: there is none. A minimum on Bankrate's own site: there is none. A statement of how many lenders receive the same lead: there is none, and rather than borrow a figure that one other company publishes about its own marketplace, this page reports the silence and asks the question in section 4.1. A description of how a lead is delivered: the media kit does not give one. Figures that appeared only in a search snippet, an undated page, or a competing vendor's blog were left out entirely, which is why this page is emptier than a listicle.
What this page does not do. It does not judge lead quality, and it measures nobody's conversion or contact rates, ours included. It does not publish a price a provider has not published itself unless a named third party published it and this page says who and when. It does not rank, score or recommend.
Corrections. If you are a provider named here and a fact about you is wrong, out of date, or missing context, write to info@visionxlab.com with the page it comes from, and we will correct it and move the date stamp at the top of this page.
Disclosure. This page is published by VisionXLab. VisionXLab sells mortgage leads, so we are one of the companies being compared, and we appear in the table above alongside everyone else. Every fact about another provider comes either from that provider's own public web pages or from a named third party, accessed on September 15, 2026, and the source is stated next to the fact. If you are a provider on this page and something here is wrong or out of date, write to info@visionxlab.com and we will correct it.
© 2026 VisionXLab · M4 Labs LLC. All rights reserved. Trade names and trademarks on this page belong to their respective owners and are used to identify the companies described.